Take Profit Trader rules: drawdown, daily loss and reset time

Take Profit Trader (Test): a $1,500 to $9,000 profit target, no daily loss limit, and a $1,500 to $4,500 end-of-day trailing maximum loss that stops trailing once it reaches the starting balance. The dollar limits depend on the account size. Read from Take Profit Trader's own rules page and last verified on September 15, 2026.

Verified on against Take Profit Trader’s own rules: takeprofittraderhelp.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/15170265979165-Rule-3-Do-Not-Hit-End-Of-Day-EOD-Maximum-Trailing-Drawdown. Consistry re-reads every firm’s pages weekly.

Take Profit Trader rules by program

Take Profit Trader (Test)

Verified September 15, 2026 · source

Take Profit Trader (Test): a $1,500 to $9,000 profit target, no daily loss limit, and a $1,500 to $4,500 end-of-day trailing maximum loss that stops trailing once it reaches the starting balance. The dollar limits depend on the account size.

Take Profit Trader (Test) limits
Account sizeProfit targetDaily loss limitMaximum loss
$25,000$1,500None$1,500
$50,000$3,000None$2,000
$75,000$4,500None$2,500
$100,000$6,000None$3,000
$150,000$9,000None$4,500
Daily reset
There is no daily loss limit, so there is no daily reset.
Daily loss calculation
There is no daily loss limit.
Maximum loss
The maximum loss is $1,500 to $4,500, trailing: it follows the peak and it is recalculated once at the end of the trading day. It sits a fixed distance behind the peak. It stops trailing once it reaches the starting balance.
Minimum trading days
Test: at least 3 trading days, and no single day above 50% of net profit (going over raises the target, it does not fail the Test). PRO: flat from 1 minute before to 1 minute after FOMC statements, NFP and CPI (plus crude inventories on crude, bond auctions on 10Y/30Y), and at least one trading day per calendar week.
Consistency rule
Yes, a 50% best-day rule.
News trading
Restricted on funded accounts only: no holding positions within 1 minutes of high-impact releases. PRO and PRO+ accounts must hold no positions and no working orders from 1 minute before to 1 minute after FOMC statements/announcements, Non-Farm Payrolls and CPI on every product, plus crude oil inventories on crude and bond auctions on the 10-year note and 30-year bond (Fed speakers and FOMC minutes are allowed). Test accounts are unrestricted. The consequence is not stated. source

Program notes. Warning: the funded PRO account switches to INTRADAY trailing on unrealized P&L, stricter than the Test you passed; it still stops at the starting balance. Test: at least 3 trading days, and no single day above 50% of net profit (going over raises the target, it does not fail the Test). No daily loss limit; positions are closed at 4:55 PM ET. PRO: flat from 1 minute before to 1 minute after FOMC statements, NFP and CPI (plus crude inventories on crude, bond auctions on 10Y/30Y), and at least one trading day per calendar week.

What Take Profit Trader says

These sentences are copied from Take Profit Trader’s own pages and stored next to the numbers above. Each links to the page it came from.

Maximum loss type · Take Profit Trader (Test)
“The drawdown is called “trailing” because the minimum account balance follows your highest end-of-day balance upward.”

Source: takeprofittraderhelp.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/15170265979165-Rule-3-Do-Not-Hit-End-Of-Day-EOD-Maximum-Trailing-Drawdown

Take Profit Trader rules, questions answered

Does Take Profit Trader have a trailing drawdown?

Take Profit Trader (Test): Yes. The maximum loss trails the peak. It is recalculated once at the end of the trading day. It sits a fixed distance behind the peak. It stops trailing once it reaches the starting balance.

When does the daily loss limit reset at Take Profit Trader?

Take Profit Trader (Test): There is no daily loss limit, so there is no daily reset.

How is the daily loss limit calculated at Take Profit Trader?

Take Profit Trader (Test): There is no daily loss limit.

Does Take Profit Trader have a consistency rule?

Take Profit Trader (Test): Yes, a 50% best-day rule.

What is the minimum number of trading days at Take Profit Trader?

Take Profit Trader (Test): The program notes state: Test: at least 3 trading days, and no single day above 50% of net profit (going over raises the target, it does not fail the Test). PRO: flat from 1 minute before to 1 minute after FOMC statements, NFP and CPI (plus crude inventories on crude, bond auctions on 10Y/30Y), and at least one trading day per calendar week.

Can I trade news at Take Profit Trader?

Take Profit Trader (Test): Restricted on funded accounts only: no holding positions within 1 minutes of high-impact releases. PRO and PRO+ accounts must hold no positions and no working orders from 1 minute before to 1 minute after FOMC statements/announcements, Non-Farm Payrolls and CPI on every product, plus crude oil inventories on crude and bond auctions on the 10-year note and 30-year bond (Fed speakers and FOMC minutes are allowed). Test accounts are unrestricted. The consequence is not stated.

Tracking Take Profit Trader rules automatically

Consistry is a trading journal for prop firm traders. It applies these verified Take Profit Trader limits to your trades and shows the daily room left, the distance to the maximum loss and your progress through each phase, so you do not have to work them out by hand. Logging trades and accounts is free.

Rules change and firms run promotions. Everything on this page is re-checked weekly and dated, but the account you are trading is the final word: confirm the live numbers in your Take Profit Trader dashboard before you rely on them.